The home for stoner rock news and reviews.

Review – Rhythm Hawks – Rhythm Hawks

Sometimes you hear one song by a band and you just know that when they release their album it’s going to be good. Such is the case with New Zealand’s Rhythm Hawks. Back in August the band released a song on their Bandcamp page titled “Shake n Shout.” The song is a slower blues/garage rock type song reminiscent of an early 60’s song meets early 90’s grunge. Right then and there I knew that when the full album came out I was going to be in for something special.

Well that time has finally come. The band recently released their self titled debut EP. The album is a blues rock album at heart but does contain moments of psychedelic, surf and garage rock. The band must have put a lot of time in writing these songs as they are each different and unique. It’s 7 songs long at about 25 minutes so there isn’t a whole lot but the uniqueness of each song keeps from getting boring and stale. Listening from start to finish I didn’t feel the need to skip a track or turn it off. The songs are interesting and sound great. The tempo is mixed up between slow and fast.

This is a great EP. I was VERY pleased with it and it’s probably going to end up somewhere on my top list at the end of the year. Stream the entire album (below) then click to make your purchase.

4 responses

  1. how many times do i have to say it stop sending me the [new post ] reviews please just stop it and remove me from your website.!!! what do i have to do for you to stop sending me the [ new post ] reviews. i don’t want them. please stop. please stop. please stop. do you not understand please stop sending me the [ new post ] reviews. i gave you a list of dvds i want if you can’t order them in for me then just tell me where i can get them from if you can’t order them in for me. p.s. i don’t want the [ new post ] reviews sent to me no more i don’t want them because i don’t like that kind of music. the only music that i like is black metal and gothic metal dvds .!!! i don’t like or want cd’s album’s or ep’s!!! i just want dvds of the kind of music that i like and want!!! [ i gave you a list of music / bands that i like and want!!! [ but they are dvds only ] can you or can’t you order the dvds i want if you can’t order them in for me just tell me where i can get them from! if you can’t do that then just remove me from your website!!! i am getting sick and tied of the [ new post ] reviews of music you keep sending please just stop sending me them again what do i have to do for you to stop sending me the [ new post ] reviews and remove me from your website.

    October 19, 2011 at 2:13 pm

  2. if you can’t order the dvds in that i want then can you please tell me where i can get the dvds from the list of dvds i sent you!!! just stop sending me the [ new post ] reviews. please stop sending me [ new post ] reviews to my inbox unless you have dvds i like and i only like black metal and gothic metal dvds!!! if you can’t remember what i asked for last time then here is a list of dvds that i want – siebenburgen. katarina lilja. tarja turunen. emilie autumn. diabvlvs in mvsica. sigh. agathdaimon. abigail’s mercy. king diamond. lacrimosa. inkubus sukkubus. the crest. powerwolf. lahannya.astarte. nazareth. nina hagen. sinergy. lords of acid. magnum / bob catley.!!! but most of all i after swedish metal band ghost dvds and dvds only if you can’t order them in for me than can you please tell me where i can get these dvds from. please advice . just don’t send me the [ new post ] reviews, just advice me on the dvds i’m asking for above and please advice me on them . then stop sending me [ new post ] reviews to my inbox. p.s. just advice me on dvds listed above . please. thanks [ thats all i am asking about the dvds listed above ]

    October 19, 2011 at 2:58 pm

    • Bill Goodman

      Listen man, last time. YOU CLICKED “FOLLOW” UP TOP SO NOW YOU’RE GOING TO GET A NOTICE WITH EVERY POST. YOU NEED TO UNFOLLOW TO GET THE EMAILS TO STOP. ALSO, WE CAN’T HELP YOU WITH YOUR DVDS, LOOK ELSEWHERE FOR THEM!

      October 19, 2011 at 3:04 pm

  3. Pingback: Top 20 of 2011 – Jake’s Picks « The Soda Shop

Leave a Reply

