The home for stoner rock news and reviews.

Review – Underdogs – Revolution

When I want to watch hit by hit action, I turn on an NHL Hockey game. When I want to hear hit by hit, I turn to Go Down Records. The Italian label is known for signing some great local talent and showcasing them to the world. They’ve given us great bands such as OJM, Vic du Monte’s Persona Non Grata, The Shoes and Small Jackets. Add Underdogs to that growing list. Their recently released album Revolution is one hell of an album.

If you like desert rock, stoner rock, riff rock or any combo of the above, Revolution is your album. Listening to it, I couldn’t help but draw comparisons to other bands such as Dozer and Queens of the Stone Age. While the sound may be similar, It’s completely different. It’s a breath of fresh air in a somewhat crowded and stale environment. The riffs are a plenty, the vocals are harmonious and the rest of the album beats on in good tune. The bassseems to be a little bit more prominent than on many other areas. It really stands out, especially in the track “Half A Job” (a pretty catchy song).

Revolution is one of the finer releases this year. My only regret would be I didn’t get the review knocked out sooner than I did. I’ve had the pleasure of listening to it for a few months now and it’s just as refreshing to listen to time and time again. It’s earned a high mark on the repeat factor. I think 4 times this week alone says a lot for me. Listen to “Mad Cow” (below) then head on over to Go Down Records for your own copy.

Leave a Reply

