The home for stoner rock news and reviews.

Bevar Sea Reveal Debut Album Details

22 January, 2012: 2011 was a good year for Bevar Sea, with several gigs in the bag and great response from the local audience to their take on slow and heavy music. 2012 threatens to up the ante, with the impending release of the self-titled debut album, featuring the best-known songs from their live set.

Bevar Sea – self-titled (approx 40 min)


1. Universal Sleeper
2. Abishtu
3. The Smiler
4. Mono Gnome

Guitar player and main songwriter, Srikanth Panaman, has this to say: “We’ve had a great time performing these songs since we made our stage debut. After a year of playing them out and getting better, we thought it was the right time to hit the studio and put out our first album. On the one hand, it’s been a challenge to capture the live vibe on the recordings, and on the other, being in the studio and listening to the songs over and over has allowed us to fine-tune the arrangements. One of our favourite engineers/producers is going to be mixing this, so this is going to be a mindblowing experience for us.”

The self-titled album has been penned for an early-summer 2012 release via the recently formed Iron Fist Records in India. CDs and digital downloads will be the first available media, with more formats on the cards later. The CD will come in a 6 panel digipack, including a 12 page booklet, with extensive illustrations across the layout. According to Rahul Chacko, lead guitarist and in-house band artist: “The art for Bevar Sea has always been about trying to portray the spirit of the music, while using reference points from the lyrics, and incorporating a healthy dose of influence from some of our favourite comic artists. The album art is probably our most ambitious collection yet, and so far it’s shaping up pretty good!”

The band will wrap up recording, and support label-mates, scene veterans, and fellow old schoolers Kryptos for their third album’s launch party on Feb 18th at Kyra Theatre in Bangalore. This occasion will also see the launch of Bevar Sea’s new website, and the debut of their new song, “Where There’s Smoke (There’s A Pyre)”.

Bevar Sea are Ganesh Krishnaswamy on vocals, Srikanth Panaman and Rahul Chacko on guitars, Avinash Menon on bass, and Deepak Raghu on drums.

More updates on the album, the single, merchandise, and tour dates to follow.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s