The home for stoner rock news and reviews.

Current Rotation 1/28/2012

I’m still on somewhat of a heavy and doom kick so when I fired up The Burning EP by Italy’s own Firelord, I was pleasantly surprised. Right away I’m greeted with some nice sounding and deep crushing vibes. The vocals are deep but not to deep, the classic rock elements on some of the guitars are a breath of fresh air. The sound brings back some of the later day Black Sabbath. I loved this one from start to finish. The EP isn’t anything groundbreaking but it is good. This EP serves as a great start for the band and I’d certainty be all over a full length when one is released.

Samsara Blues Experiment is a band I’ve followed loosely over the past few years. It was with great pleasure that this album made it’s way into my ears. I loved the psych blues of past albums so Revelation & Mystery was a welcomed addition. Those psych blues elements are intact, in fact, the album has a bit more of a prog feel to it. Late last year I learned to appreciate some good old fashioned prog metal and was delighted to hear some throughout Revelation & Mystery. Samsara Blues Experiment never fails in their releases. They’re continuously evolving and that’s what a lot of bands that succeed do. Their combo of classic, prog, psychedelic, and blues rock make for an excellent album and one that I’m quite fond of.

I have a question. Is there really a theme for funerals? If there isn’t I nominate Le Scimmie. This 2 piece play a hella of a doomed out, deathly sounding, well, doom. It’s heavily fuzzed out too which really adds to the atmosphere surrounding the album Dromomania. All is not to heavy though as there are some lighter moments that seem to have a bit of a garage rock tone and they mix it up with some classic and post rock elements. Very well done gentlemen. Dromomania is one of the best instrumental albums I’ve heard in a while.

What seems like only yesterday has actually only been a year. It feels like yesterday I was letting everyone know about XII Boar and their what is now first release. Now they’re back with an EP that’s even heavier and more in your face than the last. I didn’t think it was possible but the band has proven me wrong. Split Tongue, Cloven Hoof is one intense beast. If your suicidal tendencies are subsiding, this will bring them out ten fold. This is some seriously kick ass heavy rock. The best thing about it, it’s free. Get it now!

Leave a Reply

