The home for stoner rock news and reviews.

Review – Green & Wood – Devil’s Plan

In my never ending quest to find great new music on the illustrious Bandcamp, I stumbled upon Green & Wood while looking for some doom metal. The cover looked interesting so I thought I’d check it out. Wow. Excellent stuff indeed. I wasn’t planning on reviewing the album as it wasn’t a submission but I like it so much I couldn’t help myself.

Devil’s Plan is the 2nd album from this Los Angeles band. I can’t compare it to their first album as I haven’t heard it yet (it’s on order and in the process of shipping). This is a fine fine album. First off is the whole tone and vibe. It is typical 70’s based Black Sabbath doom riffs. It’s a true and tired formula that you can either pull off or get labeled as a copycat. Green & Wood have enough tricks up their sleeve to pull it off. The album comes off as feeling unique an timeless. Its an album I can turn to when I don’t know what the hell I want to listen to. It’s one of those albums that won’t leave my side through thick and thin. Perhaps it’s the thick and juicy riffs? Probably. The last band of this nature that hooked me like this was Orchid. Vocalist Ethan Fowler reminds me a bit of Geddy Lee in his tone but with a tad bit less pitch. Another reason why I like this album so much is the bands ability to switch it up to keep from becoming boring. Not every song is trying to do the same thing and sound the same. The riffs are catchy as hell. There have been a few times I’ve listened to this album where it was pretty much background music at the time and even though I really wasn’t paying attention, I still found myself grooving along with the tunes.

The album is available now on Bandcamp and physically through the band. I don’t know if it’s available on CD but when you order the LP, it does come with a download code which gets you both lossless and lossy downloads. Devil’s Plan is one of those albums you can turn to over and over again. It ranks right up there with Orchid’s Capricorn in terms of style and re playability.

2 responses

  1. Oh shit, I had no idea these guys had a new album out. The first one is great. Very Sabbathy, of course, but there’s nothing wrong with that.

    March 12, 2012 at 3:17 pm

  2. Pingback: Daily Bandcamp Album – Green&Wood – Devil’s Plan « The Soda Shop

Leave a Reply

