The home for stoner rock news and reviews.

Posts tagged “the soda shop

The Soda Shop Records Presents – The Soda Shop Comp Vol. 3

The Soda Shop Records Proudly Presents it’s next free comp album. The album is officially due out for FREE at the end of May. Artists featured will be Fellwoods, The Grand Astoria, The Dead Exs, The Heavy Eyes and a few more surprises. More details to come soon.

Also on the comp album will be a track from Mothership’s self titled debut album which is due out in June. You’ll be able to stream the song exclusively now. (more…)

March Bandness Sweet 16

Congrats to all the bands that have made it thus far. There have been quite a few upsets much like the basketball tourny going on at the moment. Remember you can vote once a day for your favorites in each region.

Click for a HUGE enlarged view


Epic Album of the Week – Strangers in a Strange Land

Written by Ian Gerber for The Soda Shop

Fancy an independent Epic Album?  Yeah, me too. (more…)

The Soda Shop Podcast This Saturday!

Tune in to Grip of Delusion Radio this Saturday 2-25-2012 @ 3-5 EST for The Soda Shop’s weekly Podcast. This week we celebrate The Man, The Legend, Scott “Wino” Weinrich. The man has had quite a career in many bands and guest spots. This weekend we take notice. We cover his career from Saint Vitus all the way until this years Wino & Conny Ochs release as well as all the in between material.


01 Wino & Conny Ochs – “Labour of Love” from Heavy Kingdom (2012)
02 Wino – “Release Me” from Punctuated Equilibrium (2009)
03 Probot – “The Emerald Law” from Probot (2004)
04 The Hidden Hand – “Desensitized” from Mother, Teacher, Destroyer (2004)
05 Shrinebuilder – “Science of Anger” from Shrinebuilder (2009)
06 Saint Vitus – “I Bleed Black” from V (1989) (more…)

Epic Album of the Week – Booker T. and The MG’s “McLemore Avenue”

Written by Ian Gerber for The Soda Shop

It gives me great pleasure to write about this album.  There is so much awesome contained on it that I can hardly contain myself every time I listen to it.  Let’s get into it, shall we?

Either you know Booker T. and The MG’s or you don’t.  While they themselves did not have much time to record and release their own music, they certainly hit pay dirt on such classics “Green Onions”, “Hip Hug-her”, and “Jelly Bread”, these giants of soul are best known as the house band for the legendary Stax Records label.  If you have ever heard Otis Redding’s “(Sittin’ On) The Dock of the Bay”, you have heard these soul men at work.  It’s safe to say that without them, rock and roll would have probably sounded different.  Also worth mentioning is the fact that they were an “integrated” band at a time when that wasn’t the best idea for someone trying to make it in the music business, much less trying to get a seat at the local diner.  This amazing ‘melting pot’ of musicians were the real deal and proof that real music, and any art for that matter, comes from the soul  and the color of a person’s skin doesn’t have a damn thing to do with it. (more…)

Review – Howlin Rain “The Russian Wilds”

Witten by Ian Gerber for The Soda Shop

It’s been a while since I have been really excited about a new release.  To those who follow The Soda Shop, it’s no secret that I’m not the biggest fan of the super macho, growled vocals and amps that are turned to 11…all of the time.  I love singers who can sing, guitar players with dynamics, and clean sounding records that leave a certain “headspace” that is not so easily achievable with stacks of Marshalls, Ampegs, and vocals that push red on the meter.  So when Howlin Rain put their new album up on for a sneak peek, I was a little more than curious.  I never like to buy into the hype of a record with a larger than average promotions budget that comes with being on a label like American Records.  They usually fall flat (El Camino anyone?).  Some of you might remember Howlin Rain’s frontman, Ethan Miller, from the underground psychedelic mindfucker that was Comets on Fire.  I can honestly say that Miller’s progression, while completely logical, is a radical departure from the chaotic, free jazz inspired, psychedelic freak outs that were the trademark of Comets on Fire.  ‘The Russian Wilds’ is a completely organized and well thought out studio performance.  If you watch the short film they recently put out to promote the band and the record, this is due in no small part that the album’s producer, RICK FUCKING RUBIN, didn’t want to make the record until the band had rehearsed and toured the material extensively.  Good work usually comes with practice and dedication and it is evident here. (more…)

The Soda Shop Podcast This Saturday!

Tune in this Saturday to Grip of Delusion Radio, 3-5 EST to listen to The Soda Shop’s weekly Podcast. This week we look at debut full lengths and their lead tracks. All tracks are full songs and do not relect any short intro tracks. The setlist is as follows:

01 Orange Goblin – “The Astral Project” from Frequencies from Planet Ten (1998)
02 Alabama Thunderpussy – “Falling Behind” from Rise Again (1998)
03 Sixty Watt Shaman – “Rumor Den” from Ultra Electric (1998)
04 Novadriver – “Satellite” from Void (2001)
05 Acrimony – “Leaves of Mellow Grace” from Hymns to the Stone (1994)
06 Mammoth Volume – “Seagull” from Mammoth Volume (1999)
07 Clutch – “Big News I” from CLutch (1995)
08 Lo-Pan – “Hills Are Alive” from Lo-Pan (2006) (more…)